Principles of Ethical Conduct

In order to ensure that these ethical commitments are made explicit, UTMB has written ethical guidelines for use by all UTMB staff and employees. These "Principles of Ethical Conduct" were endorsed in 1998 by the members of UTMB leadership. They were:

  • James F. Arens, M.D., Vice President - Clinical Affairs
  • George M. Bernier, Jr, M.D., Vice President - Academic Affairs
  • Eugene V. Boisaubin, M.D., Co-chairperson - UTMB Institutional Ethics Committee
  • Michele A. Carter, Ph.D., Co-chairperson - UTMB Institutional Ethics Committee
  • Ronald A. Carson, Ph.D., Director - Institute for the Medical Humanities
  • Alvin L. LeBlanc, M.D., Associate Dean - Graduate Medical Education
  • C. Joan Richardson, M.D., Medical Director - Clinical Affairs
  • Jean Sorrells-Jones, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, Executive Director & Chief Nurse
  • John D. Stobo, M.D., President, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • Courtney M. Townsend, M.D., Chairman and Chief of Staff

Reviewed by: Charles Johnstone, J.D., UTMB Legal Affairs Office

Any questions pertaining to these guidelines can be referred to:

Jeff Farroni, PhD, JD
Director of the UTMB Ethics Program

The UTMB Health Institute for the Medical Humanities 301 University Blvd, Primary Care Pavilion Ste 2.301, Galveston TX 77555-1311 (409) 772-2376. Copyright © 2014-15 The University of Texas Medical Branch. Please review our privacy policy and Internet guidelines.